A Long, Slow Death

Hey lovelies!!!

***I know that it’s been a WHILE since I last updated, but it’s not because I’ve been being lazy. I’ve been having issues logging onto my account and I finally got everything straightened out. With that being said, this post was written at the end of last semester when I was waiting for vacation to begin.***

Ya’ll. DESKWARMING IS DEATH.

image

For those of you that don’t know, deskwarming is when you have to come to work because of your contractual days and hours per week, but you’re not teaching because for whatever reason, there are no classes. In theory, this seems pretty cool. I mean, you’re getting paid to do nothing. But then, after a while, it hits you. You’re getting paid to do NOTHING. 8 looooong hours of nothing.

Now, usually I don’t have a problem with deskwarming. But I’ve been deskwarming for almost 2 weeks straight now and I’m starting to feel a little stir crazy. Most of my classes last week were cancelled, and there are no English classes this week because it’s the last week of school.

So, what does deskwarming feel like? It’s kind of like being grounded as an adult. You sit and your desk and look out the window at the outside world and imagine the freedom. (And yes, I’ve gone outside and gotten air. And then I took my ass back inside because it was cold as hell.) You think of all the things that you could be doing with this time (cleaning your apartment, going to the bank, doing laundry etc.) and then you realize that it’s going to be a while before you actually do those things because you’re going to be too tired when you get home.

What does a person do while deskwarming? Well, you begin by hitting up facebook and stalking everyone’s profile for a while. Then, that becomes boring so you become an Instagram stalker. When you tire of that, move on to YouTube. And then you start googling random things for your upcoming vacation. (It’s also important to note that you are Kakao-ing your friends throughout this whole time lol.) When you’ve finally exhausted yourself, you look up and realize that it’s only 10:16 am and you’ve still got a LONG way to go. Then, you begin studying your Korean for a while, and then you begin the entire process again.

Ya’ll, I’m obviously being super dramatic here (these 2 weeks have been rough lmaoo), but one thing this time has taught me is to have a plan for my time. I get bored extremely easy so it’s important for me to have things to keep me occupied. I wrote blog posts even though i couldn’t post them. I took this time to call home, since it was the eveningtime where I’m from. I paid some bills, downloaded apps on my phone, anything to help the time pass. And although it can be really boring, I do appreciate getting paid to just relax.

Deskwarming is inevitable; it’s a part of being an English teacher in Korea. Might as well get some ish done while you have the time.

What do ya’ll do when you have loads of deskwarming time? Comment below!!

Talk to you later lovelies!!

3 thoughts on “A Long, Slow Death

    • Mimi_90 says:

      Omg, that sounds awful!! I don’t know how you did it!! I’ve recently started figuring out things to do to be more productive so I don’t die of boredom LOL. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a comment