A Colorful, Fun-Filled Weekend in Busan

Hi lovelies!!

Last weekend, my friends and I decided to get out of Seoul and head to Busan, the second largest city in Korea, for the Holi Hai Festival. Although the festival was on Sunday, we decided to leave on Friday night so that we could spend Saturday exploring Busan. It was my first time visiting Busan and, although I’d heard mixed reviews, I was excited to get out and explore.

We arrived in Busan around 11:15 pm, dropped our things off at our hostel near Haeundae Beach, and then went to walk around. I’m not going to lie, Friday night was dead. There were hardly any people outside, we kept running into this weird guy (that’s a whole different story LOL) and I was starting to doubt those stories from people who said that Busan had an amazing nightlife. I guess I’m a little spoiled from being in Seoul, where there are always tons of people out and lots of things to do, and I expected it to be as lively as Seoul is.

On Saturday, we woke up bright and early, ready to get our day started. We headed to Gamcheon Culture Village, a village that used to house the city’s poorest residents but was remodelled in 2009 by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism in South Korea into a creative community. (If you’re interested in learning more, click here!) The weather was beautiful, and it was the perfect day to walk around the village and see the beautiful views and artwork in the area. If you go to Busan, definitely make sure to carve some time out for this place!

image

image

LOL acting silly with one of the murals in the village

image

image image image

Then, we headed to Jagalchi Fish Market, which is the largest seafood market in Korea. There were lots of ajummas selling their seafood and, being the big kid that I am, I was amazed by all the different types of fish that were on display. (And no matter how long I’m in Korea, I’ll never get used to seeing someone grab an octopus with their hands LOL. ) Many of the women were very friendly and in awe of us and our basic Korean, but there were a couple ajummas who were actually pretty rude. Overall, I really enjoyed walking through the fish market, even though we didn’t buy anything.

image

image

Fresh octopus for sale at Jagalchi Market

Afterwards, we headed to Gwangalli Beach. Honestly, I wasn’t blown away by this beach. It was like a regular city beach, nothing spectacular, BUT we did get to check out Gwangan Daegyo, which is the longest bridge in Korea.

image

Rita and I at Gwangalli Beach

Then, we headed out for dinner and drinks for the rest of the night. We went to this delicious Indian restaurant near our hostel, which was delicious but a little expensive. Then we headed off to a night of drinks and shenanigans at various bars in the area (The Wolfhound, Sharky’s, and Thursday Party). There were definitely more people on Saturday night, as it seemed that many people came for the festival, but it was still not as lively and poppin’ as Seoul.

The highlight of the weekend was definitely the Holi Hai Festival at Haeundae Beach. This festival, also known as the ‘Festival of Colors’, is a celebration of color, the coming of spring, and the vibrancy of life. Although it’s celebrated primarily celebrated in India and Nepal, the festival has now spread to many other parts of the world. People were dressed in white so that we could be covered in beautiful colorful paint and powders and everyone was just having a good time listening to music and coloring the world around us. I was absolutely covered by the end but I had sooo much fun!!

image image image image image

image

imageimage

image

This was definitely a weekend to remember! I had an amazing time and, although I love Seoul, it was great to get away for a while and visit somewhere new. Shout out to my friends, who let me steal their Holi pics because I didn’t want my phone to be ruined by the powdered paint!

Talk to you later!

3 thoughts on “A Colorful, Fun-Filled Weekend in Busan

  1. Tony Vu says:

    The Busan nightlife comes alive during the summer season. The beaches are packed, especially haeundae. One of the highlights is the sand festival there in june. People from all over the country come during beach season so June/Julys the best time to return! Other than that, its pretty laidback when it isnt summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

