Japan Chronicles: Fushimi Inari and Nishiki Market

Today, I decided to keep it pretty light and chill. After my adventures the previous day, I didn’t feel like running all over the place and I wanted to sleep in late. Beauty rest is important, even when travelling!! 

So I woke up around noon-ish, grabbed something to eat and then headed to the Fushimi Inari shrine in the southern part of Kyoto. This shrine, located on Mt. Inari, is famous for the thousands of bright red torii gates that line the trails behind the main buildings. Although the main buildings are beautiful, this area, as well as the beginning of the hiking trails, is packed with tourists. However, the farther along the trail you go, there will be less and less people. The mountain is only 233 meters, so it’s a great way to spend the afternoon!

IMG_0364

One of the shrine buildings

image

Interestingly enough, these gates are actually donations from people of companies and have the donor’s name and date of donation on the back of each gate

image

image

I love this picture!

The view as you're climbing Mt. Inari

The view as you’re climbing Mt. Inari

image

Made it to the top!

After all that climbing, I’d built up quite an appetite!  I decided to go to the Nishiki Food Market, which was also right around the corner from my hostel. Nishiki Market begins in front of Nishiki Tenmangu Shrine, which is right off of the famous Tenemachi shopping street.

Nishiki Shrine

Nishiki Shrine

Nishiki Market has over 100 shops that sell anything and everything related to food. Since I went a little later in the afternoon, it wasn’t as packed as it usually is (I ended up coming here a few times during my stay in Kyoto), but some of the stores begin closing around 5:30.

Not only is this a great place to get something to eat, it’s a people-watcher’s dream. You can see the shopkeepers, many of whom have had shops at the market for generations, working to make their creations and displays for their shops. You’ll see people taking pictures of strange foods (raises hand guiltily) trying some of the free samples that many of the stores hand out.

wpid-img_20151028_134013.jpg

A small octopus with a quail egg where the head should be. No thanks!!

wpid-img_20151028_134105.jpg

wpid-img_20151028_134223.jpg

Many kinds of fruit and vegetable chips

wpid-img_20151028_134507.jpg

wpid-img_20151028_134608.jpg

Loads of fried goods, predominantly seafood.

wpid-img_20151028_134716.jpg

Decided to try a curry kamaboko (fish cake). It wasn’t bad!!

wpid-img_20151029_125424.jpg

wpid-img_20151029_125550.jpg

wpid-img_20151029_125725.jpg

wpid-img_20151029_125848.jpg

After snacking on all different kinds of rice cakes (that was as adventurous as I was feeling at the time), I went to my hostel to chill and then ended up going out in the area with some cool people that night. I wish I could tell you more, but I don’t actually remember the name of the place we went. I only know that it was around the Gion area and it was a good time LOL. Anywhooo, it was definitely a nice chill day in Kyoto!

2 thoughts on “Japan Chronicles: Fushimi Inari and Nishiki Market

  1. TaylorGabrielle says:

    OMG Mimi! I want to do what you’re doing!! We have to have a powwow or something because I’d love to get more info on teaching abroad. Would you be open to doing an interview for my blog? I think a lot of readers would be interested in learning more about teaching ESL.

    Also, this post made me craaazzzy hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

