I’m going home!!!

Last week, I told ya’ll that I re-signed my EPIK contract and that I will be staying in Korea for another year. What I didn’t tell you was that I will be going home for about 2 weeks before the start of my new contract!!!

Carlton Dance

Dancing Dance animated GIF

I’m so excited, I’ve been twerking, spinning, dougie-ing, and two-stepping ever since I bought my ticket!!

Dance Happy animated GIFMusic Dancing animated GIF

And since I’m giddy with excitement, (yes, I did just use the word giddy), I decided to write down some of the things that I’m looking forward to during my visit. They’re not in any particular order, except for #1 and #2 LOL.

  1. My friends and family, DUHHH!!
  2. Baked mac and cheese.
  3. CHEESE!! American, Mozzarella, Cheddar, Brie, ALL OF IT!
  4. Showers that aren’t connected to the sink
  5. Showers that are separated from the rest of the bathroom: I want to be able to take a shower and not worry about the whole bathroom being wet for the entire day.
  6. Jeans/pants that actually fit
  7. Black hair products
  8. Being able to understand what people are saying
  9. Water ice
  10. Block parties
  11. Family BBQs
  12. Home-cooked meals (made by someone other than me!!)
  13. Real soul food
  14. Chipotle
  15. Fruit that doesn’t cost an arm, two legs, and an ear.
  16. IHOP
  17. Philly cheesesteaks
  18. Being around people who look like me, a.k.a. BLACK PEOPLE!!
  19. “Excuse me.” It will be nice hearing people acknowledge that they’ve bumped into me, instead of just continuing on like they didn’t almost knock me over.
  20. Getting my eyebrows done
  21. Using a dryer to dry my clothes
  22. Flushing toilet paper down the toilet: I actually do this anyway, but it would be nice to do it without worrying about clogging up the entire building
  23. Bathtubs: I was never big into taking baths, but I will never take it for granted again
  24. Laying up in my Mom’s bed: Yes, I’m a 25 year old woman and I still crawl into my Mom’s bed when I go home. #dontjudgeme
  25. Laying on the couch watching TV
  26. Watching movies in the theater without subtitles
  27. Having a living room
  28. “Chinese” food: I know it’s not actually Chinese food but I’d really enjoy some shrimp lo mein right about now
  29. Going out dancing!
  30. Thrifting!! There are some vintage spots around Seoul that are kind of similar to thrift stores but they definitely aren’t as big and don’t have the kind of selection that many thrift stores in the U.S. have.

I know that almost half of this list involves food and eating, but I’m fine with that. I’m perfectly happy with stuffing my face the entire time that I’m home. I have an entire year in Korea to work it off LOL.

What things are you missing from home? Comment below!

One thought on “I’m going home!!!

  1. leslieweighill says:

    Haha! This is hilarious. I’m a Canadian, but I’ve lived in Uganda for almost 12 years. While this is home now, I still miss a couple very basic Canadian things:

    Poutine
    Proper shopping (clothes marketed to ME!!!)
    Trash TV

    Like

Leave a Reply

