Teachable Moment

The funniest thing happened today with my 3rd graders. I took my braids out, and this was the first time that they saw my natural hair. They walked into the classroom, and their mouths literally dropped open. They were like “OMG, what happened to your hair?!?!”

200

I explained to them that my hair is different and can do many things that their hair can’t do. I showed them how long my hair was by pulling out a curl, and then I started showing them how I could fluff my hair to make it bigger. I also told them that there were so many different styles I could do with my natural hair. By the end, they were clapping and saying “Your hair is fantastic!” and they were trying to get their hair to have some volume!! LMAO

200 (1)

4 thoughts on “Teachable Moment

  1. Melody (@theMAREVOLI) says:

    Haha, I can so relate! I have short natural hair but I got twists recently and when I came to school ( I teach at an all girl’s middle school) they were in AWE. Even my co-teachers were memorized. My girls wanted to touch it and had a million questions.

    Like

    • Mimi_90 says:

      Lol i know right!!! I actually appreciate the curiosity and the questions because I can help them learn more about people who are different from them!! Thanks for reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

