5 Things I’ve Learned About Korea(ns)

Hi lovelies!!

I started this post over a month and a half ago, but better late than never!!

Ok, before I really get into this post, let me say that I’m in no way, shape, or form, an expert on Korea or Koreans. I mean, I’ve only been here for 3 months, and there’s still so much that I haven’t seen or done yet. However, in the time that I’ve been here, these are some things that I’ve definitely noticed.

1. Koreans know how to have a good time. Listen, I’m not going to sugar coat this. In my experience, Koreans know how to party. I honestly don’t even know when the clubs close because they’re STILL open when I’m leaving at like 5:30 in the morning. The drinks are always flowing, and if you know me, then you know I’m down with that. Even at school dinners, the soju makes an appearance and you’ll hear people screaming “one shot!” And I’ve seen Koreans GO IN when it comes to drinking. On the weekends, you can see people drunk out of their minds around like 8. If you don’t believe me, check out http://www.blackoutkorea.com/  It’s hilarious, but also very true LMAOO

2. Oral hygeine is VERY important. I’m talking about walking into the bathroom of a club, and all the girls are standing in front of the sinks brushing their teeth. IN THE CLUB. At school, the first thing that the teachers do is grab their toothbrushes from their desks and go and brush their teeth. I’m not mad at it though. There’s nothing cute about being out and about with tart breath. So, I started bringing my toothbrush and brushing my teeth throughout the day too!!

3. Ajummas (old Korean women) are ’bout that life. Basically, this term refers to an older woman. They’re everywhere and they look so sweet and you just want to hug them. Don’t let that fool you. They DON’T play. If you’re moving too slow, they will push the sh*t out of you to get pass, and you won’t get an excuse me. If they see an available seat on the subway, they will knock you over trying to get to it. And many of the ajummas that I’ve seen are in better shape then I am. If you’re on the train at 6 in the morning on the weekends, you will see many ajummas with their hiking gear get ready to hike. Up a mountain. At 6 in the morning. Smh, I still get winded just walking up the stairs.

4. Korean age makes you feel old as hell. Now, I’m not an expert on this, and I’m still confused about how this works, but I know that I’m a year older in Korea. Some people are even 2 years older in Korea. I think it has something to do with your birthday and how Koreans believe that you’re already 1 years old when your’e born, but all I know is I’m 25 here and I DON’T LIKE IT. I feel like I should have my life together more. And when people tell me their age, I’m not sure whether our international age is the same or if I’m  1 or 2 years older or younger than they are. (If you can explain this to me, please comment below. I’m still super confused LOL)

5. COUPLES. Oh, there’s soo much I can say about couples. First off, you WILL be asked about your relationship status. Students, teachers, random people who stop you to have a conversation on the train, they will all inquire about your relationship status. And if you’re like me, and you’re single, they’ll probably respond like “Aww, that’s okay” like I just told them that my puppy died. It also seems like everywhere in Seoul is a date spot. Namsan Tower, cafes, McDonald’s, name any place and I can guarantee you’ll go there and see couples all lovey dovey.  And don’t even get me started about walking in the street. Must you hold hands everywhere? It’s cold as hell and I’ve got places to go.

Comment below if you’ve noticed these things too or if you have any other things there are things that you’d like to add to the list. Until next time…..Byeeeee!!

4 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learned About Korea(ns)

    • Mimi_90 says:

      LOL thank you!! Yes, age is really important in Korea, and it even dictates the language you use when talking to people. Also, it’s not uncommon for people to ask you how old you are when they meet you. It’s so interesting how things vary in different cultures. Thank you for reading!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

