Prepping My Hair For SoKo

Hi lovelies!

*Sorry I haven’t posted in a while! I’ve been so busy settling in to Seoul that I haven’t had the chance to post like I want to! Anyway, here’s a post I’d started prior to coming to Korea, but I wanted to make sure I got it out to you. Enjoy!!*

So in all the talk about prepping for Korea, I felt that it would be a good idea to talk about how I prepped my hurr for the big move.

About 2 weeks before the move:

I washed my hair with Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo with Sea Kelp and Argan Oil and it left my hair clean and super moisturized. I then deep conditioned my hair with 2 packs of the ORS moisture replenishing pack and let it sit for an hour and a half with a plastic bad on my head to keep in the heat. (Using plastic bags are just as good as the plastic conditioning packs and they’re free.99 LOL) My hair was so soft and moisturized, and the deep conditioner made detangling a breeze. It also had a nice pleasant citrus scent as well. I then got my hair straightened, trimmed, and then curled. I know that’s a lot of heat but I needed this trim badly and I always get my hair curled because I think it’s just way more fun than having straight hair.

My hair about a week and a half after getting it curled. I didn't want to put any more heat on it so I bantu knotted it at night

My hair about a week and a half after getting it curled. I didn’t want to put any more heat on it so I bantu knotted it at night

 A week before the move:

I decided to get individuals because I didn’t want to have to worry about doing my hair for at least the first month or two. I figured I would have more pressing things to think about, like trying to navigate Seoul without knowing Korean, than how I’m going to do my hair each day. I got my hair done in NYC at Macenta Hair Braiding for about $100. (If you go, ask for Fanta. She’s the owner’s sister. She does your hair how you want it AND she’s fast as hell. She wasn’t there when I got these done though).  I got medium-sized, waist length individuals because I like my braids long. Getting my braids took about 5 hours or so, with two people working on my head. (Trust me, I wasn’t happy about that).  Prior to getting my braids, I washed and deep conditioned with the same products that I used when I got my trim.

photo

Fresh braids

 

A few days before the move:

I also got my aunt to make me a custom lace-front wig, just in case. I’m going to be far away from home and I need to make sure that I’m not in these streets looking crazy LOL. Although I don’t have pictures yet, I’ll make sure to update this post with pics once I wear it. I used virgin natural straight Brazilian hair from Mayvenn since I heard really great reviews. I was able to buy 3 bundles(12″, 14″, and 16″) for $159 and a 14″ natural straight closure for $89. Shipping was FREE and super fast (within 2 days). Prior to installing the hair, we dyed it black and cowashed it. The hair dyed very well and there was no shedding. I’m not a hairdresser so I can’t really tell you how to make a wig, but if you’re going to give it a shot, then this is a really good way to make your own full wig:

I hope this was helpful, especially if you’re wondering how to prepare your hair for an extended trip! Comment below, how do you prepare your hair for long trips?

Talk to you soon!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Prepping My Hair For SoKo

  1. africanremy says:

    Handy post. It’s always a struggle when preparing your hair for a trip, especially when you’re not sure what you’ll be able to find.

    How is Korea? Hope you’re selling in well!

    Lola x

    Check out my blog when you have time 🙂

    Like

    • Mimi_90 says:

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      I’m currently LOVING Korea!! There’s so much to see and do, and I’ve been trying to take it all in. I still don’t believe I’m in Korea at times LOL, but I’m definitely adjusting well.

      Love your blog, and you’re hair is gorgeous!! Definitely following you!! Hope to talk to you soon! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

